Sabrina Rabin named Big Ten Freshman of the Year

Northwestern is now home to the Big Ten Freshman of the Year in women’s lacrosse and softball. The conference announced Wednesday that centerfielder Sabrina Rabin will receive the honor for top newcomer in 2015.

Rabin is the eighth freshman of the year in program history and the first since Adrienne Monka in 2009. Rabin led the Wildcats in batting average (.411), runs scored (49) and stolen bases (27) during the regular season.

The freshman from St. Charles, Ill., was also named to the First Team All-Big Ten alongside junior Andrea Filler, and senior Andrea DiPrima was named to the Second Team All-Big Ten. The Wildcats have had at least two First Team All-Big Ten selections in each of the last three years.

Sophomore Anna Petersen was named Northwestern’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipient as well. Northwestern is back in action on Friday when the Wildcats will play in the Big Ten Tournament quarterfinals.

Leave a Reply